Dates: September 2nd – October 19th, 2019
Location: McLean County Area EMS Office/Online
In Person Sessions All in person sessions are done at the MCAEMS Office
9/14/2019 0800-1200 (Skills)
9/18/2019 1800-2200 CPR Class unless you have Healthcare Provider CPR Card
9/28/2019 0800-1200 (Skills)
10/12/2019 0800-1200 (Skills)
10/19/2019 0800-1000 (Final Test)
Course Length: Total 66 hours
Cost: System Members*: $200 (Textbook Separate)
Non-System Members: $275 (Textbook Separate)
If CPR is needed additional: $25
*Checks made payable to McLean County Area EMS. CPR can be paid the night of class.
Book: Emergency Medical Responder: First on Scene, 11th Edition with MyLab Brady Access Card.
It can be either the paper version or eText, but you must have MyLab Brady access card.
Prerequisites: Age 18 or older
Current Illinois Drivers License or State ID
Cannot have a felony
Enrollment Capacity: 8 minimum/25 maximum
Enrollment Deadline: August 23rd, 2019 (Payment due by August 30th, 2019)
Contact: Travis Wilson
*Note a prospective student who is on a System Member Agency can receive the System Member Pricing
How It Works
This class will be mostly done online at your pace. This class is created to make it easy for people to obtain a State of Illinois Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) License. In order to be successful for this class you will need a computer with internet, self motivation and discipline. There will at least four in person class sessions (and a CPR class if needed). These in person sessions are designed to get students the necessary hands on experience it takes to be a EMR.
Steps to Enroll
1. Review class announcement above
2. Fill out application below
3. Ensure Payment is submitted (Acceptance is not complete until payment is received)
4. Once all documents are received and approved, you will receive a email with acceptance into the program
5. You will also receive an email with instructions and additional information on the class
You are required to have a Healthcare Level CPR card before the completion of class. We will be offering a CPR class on 9/18 from 6pm-10pm at our office. The class will cost $25 for the CPR card. If you are unable to attend this class, you must find another class to obtain a Healthcare Level CPR card. Proof of completion will be needed prior to final test date. If you already have a healthcare level CPR card, please provide a copy of the card to our office. You will not be required to re-take the class.
Please fill out all information below. Once your application, copy of driver's license and payment is received, you will receive a letter of acceptance into the program.